A widowhood blog evolution – what’s next?

For nearly two years, this blog has centered primarily on my life experiences going from longtime married to widowed. It has been a valuable outlet for me, and I have to say I’ve enjoyed the feedback from readers.

But as I write my 41th blog, it might be reaching the end of its usefulness. I don’t know how much longer I want to wax about life as a widow.

Truth is I’m single. For better or worse that’s my status.  I’ve accepted it for the most part, but it doesn’t mean I don’t get wickedly jealous of my friends and family members who have a longtime loving spouse. I resent that, as they age, they will have the security of a life partner.

As I get older, I try harder to be more gracious. As someone who is known for speaking their mind, I have become much better at keeping my mouth shut. It enables me to keep the good friends I have and make new friends. Only occasionally do I offend people now.

Getting back to the blog — I have this body of blogs that knit together a lot of the emotions and misery I’ve had during these last few tough years. With a little editing, I might have a short book on mid-life widowhood that could be useful for other widows or those going through a painful divorce. Note to self: Look into self publishing.

The dilemma now is what to write about next? Clearly, there’s enough blogs about the single life, dating and sex (although I could continue in this vein). My sister-in-law suggests writing about life as I move through the 60s. That might cause me to lose the few younger readers I have — or provide wisdom for their future.

Detroit has become a reason for too many people to write books and articles, and I’m already doing that for a living.

I’m a master at handling Type 1 diabetes and other autoimmune illnesses, but, after almost 52 years with them, I’d rather write about something else.

What does that leave? Any ideas, suggestions? Please share.

 

 

 

 

About Marti Benedetti

I'm a longtime writer and a widow. I want to share my thoughts and experiences of being single in my 50s and beyond after being married to the same man and raising kids for 28 years. It's not the journey I signed up for, but the one I'm living with. I hope I can offer up some thoughts, chuckles and comfort for those in a similar boat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A widowhood blog evolution – what’s next?

  1. Movie Reviews? New restaurants and bars? Life lessons being learned in your 60’s?

  2. dswidow says:

    Keep the name – but start focusing more on the “Life After” and less on the “Widowhood”

  3. Karen Mantyk says:

    Not sure I have any book ideas but if it is what you want to do, I am pretty sure the idea will come to you. I know these last two years have been rough for you but you have grown and healed so much more than I am sure you realize. For sure you have figured out how to live and be happy in spite of the cards you have been dealt. Let’s so lunch soon. xo

  4. Judy Putnam says:

    I think many of your themes are universal and not just about being a widow. How about Just Life?

  5. Vic Doucette says:

    I have worked with you enough to know that whatever it is, it’ll be good!

  6. Carol Johnston says:

    Dear Sweet Marti – your blog is so good. I agree with what other people have said. Whatever you write about will be good and interesting – and I will continue to read. I know how much you miss Tom – I miss him too. You have been very brave putting yourself out there. I am sure one day I will face exactly what you are facing (unless I have the good fortune to go first). Thanks for giving me insight to the life of the newly widowed.
    Big hugs
    Carol

Leave a Reply

